You’ve come to the right place
because we’ve got answers.
Texas Defensive Driving Online FAQ
Texas defensive driving 101
How do I dismiss a traffic ticket?
Texas law allows you to dismiss one traffic ticket per year by taking a TEA-approved driving safety/defensive driving course.
How do I obtain my driving record?
For ticket dismissal, most courts require you to submit a copy of your driving record along with your Certificate of Course Completion. You can obtain your driving record directly from the Texas Department of Public Safety either online or by mail. For ticket dismissal, order driving record type 3A.
Order and print online.
Order and print your driving record online—no waiting, no hassles. Order record online >
Order by mail.
Submit the completed Driver Record Request Form and required $10 fee to:
Driver Records Bureau
Allow 14 working days from the date the Department receives the request for delivery. Download the Driver Record Request form >
How long does it take to complete the course?
By law, all Texas defensive driving courses are six hours in length. You’re required to spend a total of 300 minutes (five hours) in course instruction and 60 minutes (one hour) taking breaks.
You’re allowed complete the course all in one day or break it down into several small sessions. Stop wherever and whenever you want. Your progress is recorded--when you return, you can pick up right where you left off.
What are the course completion requirements?
To receive a Certificate of Completion, students are required to:
Students who fail to meet these requirements are not eligible to receive a certificate and their participation in the course is terminated. The online delivery of this course includes systems to ensure students fulfill all requirements before receiving a Certificate of Completion.
What about tests?
Good news: No final exam! Instead, you’ll take a two-question quiz at the end of each unit. (Don’t worry, if you pay attention you should do fine.) To pass, you must answer both questions correctly. If you fail, don’t freakout—you get three chances to pass. If you fail a unit quiz three times, you’ll fail the course.
By law, you’re required to answer 10 questions that verify your identity. The answers to identity verification questions come from information that appears on your driver license and vehicle registration. Keep these documents handy while taking the course to insure you answer correctly. You’re allowed to miss a total of three identity questions. If you miss more, you’ll fail the course.
What is your cancellation and refund policy?
A full refund will be made to the student if registration is canceled within 30 days of registering for the course and prior to completion of the course. If the student has not successfully completed this course within 180 days, his/her registration will be terminated without notice and the student will not be eligible for a refund.
What are the system requirements?
Online course requirements.
Supported browsers: Internet Explorer 7.0+, Firefox FF 2+, Safari 2.0+,
What is your privacy and security policy?
DLT undertakes extensive precautions to ensure the security of your information both online and offline. All personal information is encrypted. While on a secure page, the lock icon on the bottom of web browser will appear in the locked position. You are responsible for obtaining and maintaining adequate virus and spyware protection software to assure your computer is at all times secured.
What are the certificate delivery options?
Your course registration fee includes free USPS first-class mail delivery of your certificate. We also offer express shipping options.
Delivery schedule for courses completed by 3 p.m. Mon-Fri.
USPS first-class mail
Delivery in 7-10 business days. Price: Free
UPS 2nd Day Air®
Delivery by the end of the second business day. Price: $20.00
UPS Next Day Air Saver®
Next business day delivery by end of day. Price: $25.00
UPS Next Day Air®
Next business day delivery by 10:30 a.m., 12:00 noon, or end of day, depending on destination. Price: $30.00
UPS cannot deliver to P.O. boxes.
Can you send my certificate directly to the court?
Short answer: No.
Long answer: You must first sign your Certificate of Course Completion before submitting it to the court. Do not put the court’s address as the certificate delivery address. Doing so could cause the court to reject your certificate or your signed certificate to not reach the court by the ordered date.
How do I get another copy of my certificate?
To request a duplicate certificate, call us toll free at (855) 326-8990. The fee for a duplicate certificate is $10. If you didn't receive receive your original certificate, the $10 fee is waived if your request is made within 30 days of the original certificate issue date.